What is the age for a fishing license in New Jersey?

Anglers Under 16 – No fishing license is required of persons under 16 years old. NJ Residents Age 70 and Over – State residents 70 and older are exempt from fishing license and Trout Stamp requirements.

How old do you have to be to get a fishing license in New Jersey?

A valid New Jersey fishing license is required for residents at least 16 years and less than 70 years of age (plus all non-residents 16 years and older) to fish the fresh waters of New Jersey, including privately owned waters.

How do I get a NJ fishing license?

Licenses may be purchased by phone at (888) 773-8450, online at www.NJ.WildlifeLicense.com or at license agents such as sporting goods stores plus bait and tackle shops. Call first to be sure the agent’s system is active. Visit NJFishandWildlife.com for details, or call (609) 292-2965.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What fishing brands are made in USA?

Do I need to register to fish in NJ?

Individual saltwater anglers ages 16 and older MUST register if ANY of the following criteria are met: Recreationally fish with a hand line or rod and line, spearfish or fish by hand. Recreationally fish in the marine and fresh tidal waters of the State of New Jersey.

What is a NJ fishing buddy license?

Buddy Up! And Save When Introducing Someone To Fishing! A special type of license is available to anglers introducing a “Buddy” to freshwater fishing. The Fishing Buddy License offers both a current and a new angler (or two new anglers) reduced price fishing licenses!

How much is a fishing license at Walmart in NJ?

For residents and visitors that need to purchase a fishing license for one-day fishing, the price of the license is $11. If visitors want to purchase an annual fishing license, the price in Walmart is $40. Walmart’s fishing license for tourists that want to purchase a permit for 3 days of fishing, has a price of $19.

What is the fine for fishing without a license in NJ?

(1) Any person found hunting, fishing or trapping without the proper license or tag as may be required conspicuously displayed pursuant to subsection b. of this section shall be liable to a penalty of $10 and costs, to be recovered pursuant to the provisions of Title 23, chapter 10, of the Revised Statutes.

Do you need a license to own a bow in NJ?

No purchase is required.

New Jersey requires that everyone, age 10 and above, applying to hunt with a firearm or bow must show a previous resident license of the appropriate type from this or any state, or a course completion card from the appropriate hunter education course.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Do any fish light up?

How do I get a New Jersey fishing license online?

Fishing licenses can be purchased online from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection’s Division of Fish & Wildlife or from approved license vendors that sell hunting and fishing equipment. Licenses are issued every month of the year and are effective from the date of purchase until December 31.

Do you need a license to surf fish in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not require a general saltwater fishing license for recreational surf casting, deep sea or bay fishing. However, New Jersey saltwater anglers must register with the New Jersey Saltwater Recreational Registry Program (see the Registry Information page for details).

Where can you fish without a license in NJ?

That includes public and private lakes, ponds, rivers, and creeks. An exception is made for farmers and family members living on a farm; they don’t need a license but must adhere to general fishing regulations.

Can you still fish in NJ?

But you can still go fishing — and even earlier than usual, officials announced Tuesday. The Garden State will open trout season Wednesday, 10 days before the traditional start, for catch and release only, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner Catherine McCabe said.

How much is a hunting license in NJ?

NJ Hunting & Trapping License Information

Firearm Licenses
Resident Firearm Hunting (incl. Apprentice) $27.50
All-Around Sportsman (Includes Resident Firearm Hunting, Bow & Arrow Hunting & Fishing Licenses) $72.25
Duplicate licenses $2.00
NOTE: License fees are subject to change

How much does NJ fishing license cost?

LICENSE and STAMP FEES

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you get rid of turtles while fishing?
All Around Sportsman (includes Resident Fishing, Firearm Hunting and Bow Hunting licenses) $72.25
Resident Fishing (Ages 16-64 yrs.) $22.50
Sr. Resident Fishing (Ages 65-69 yrs.) $12.50
Resident Trout Stamp $10.50
Non-Resident Fishing (Ages 16 and up) $34.00

Do I need a trout stamp in NJ?

Trout Stamps A valid fishing license and trout stamp are both required to fish for or possess trout and salmon for all anglers (residents and non-residents) 16 and over, and residents under the age of 70. No trout stamp is required for residents age 70 years and over.

Where can I fish freshwater in NJ?

Where to Freshwater Fish in New Jersey

  • South Branch of the Raritan River for rainbow trout, brown trout, and brook trout.
  • Lake Waywayanda in Waywayanda State Park for landlocked Atlantic salmon.
  • Mercer Lake in Mercer County Central Park for largemouth bass, bluegill, sunfish, and yellow perch.
Fishing Fan Blog